NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program - High School

The NASEF Scholastic Fellows Program provides tools, resources and coaching for educators interested in introducing esports and learning in high schools across North America. 

English Language Arts Integrated Courses and Lesson Plans

NASEF’s English Language Arts Integrated Courses for grades 9-12th were designed by a team of professors and researchers from the University of California, Irvine,  curriculum development experts from the Orange County Department of Education, and English teachers from several high schools in Orange County, California.

The curriculum’s intent is to connect esports and content standards (Next Generation Science Standards, English—Language Arts, International Society for Technology in Education Standards, and Social Emotional Learning). Connecting esports, content standards, English Language Arts and the field of esports matters because it could literally change the game in how we integrate STEM education with workforce sectors and industries in order to attract more students. 

The courses are as follows:

  • Grade 9:  English + Game Design
  • Grade 10:  English + Entrepreneurship
  • Grade 11:  English + Marketing
  • Grade 12:  English + Organizers

The courses are University of California approved for “b” designation, but are open sourced and modifiable for state specific standards. NASEF will be releasing lesson plans for each course in September 2019. These lesson plans will be made available to all NASEF Scholastic Fellows.

How it Works

NASEF invites English Language Arts teachers interested in implementing NASEF’s English Language Arts Integrated Courses for grades 9-12th in their classrooms to apply to become a NASEF Scholastic Fellow. The application process consists of an online application that includes a letter of support from your administrator and small video component. Once selected, NASEF Scholastic Fellows participate in an eight month program (October - June) that provides a specialized Esports Instructional Coach, Professional Learning Community focused on esports and education, lesson plans for grades 9-12th, resources to support lesson plan development and implementation, leadership development opportunities and a stipend.

Download the NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program for High School Teachers Application packet to review the program in more detail and view all the application questions.

Download Application Packet

Upcoming Informational Webinar - Thursday, August 29, 2019

Interested in learning more about becoming a NASEF Scholastic Fellow? Register for our upcoming webinar! We will cover the basics of the program and answer any questions you may have in a brief 30 minutes. The webinar is scheduled to take place on Thursday, August 29, 2019 at 1:30pm PT | 2:30pm MT | 3:30pm CT | 4:30pm ET. Register today!

Webinar Info & Registration

  • Instructional and curriculum implement support
    • Coaching in instruction and curriculum development and implementation
      • One-on-one coaching with NASEF’s Esports Instructional Coach  (at least twice a month, in person or virtually)
      • Support in lesson plan organization and modification
      • Access to NASEF curricula for middle and high school
      • Contribute to the NASEF Curriculum Library
  • Membership in our NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community
    • The NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community will include:
      • Monthly virtual meetings (1 hour, November - June 2020)
      • Opportunities to collaborate with your NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program colleagues on organizing, modifying, and analyzing lesson plans, planning events, and more
      • Exposure to specially curated content to support curriculum implementation
      • Opportunities to record your lesson plans and receive feedback
  • Help grow esports and learning in your community
    • Support for NASEF club activation at your middle school or community-based organization
    • Host an esports and learning showcase at your middle school or community-based organization
    • Be showcased at the NASEF Scholastic Esports Night Across North America
    • Travel stipends (with approval) to speak at local, regional and state conferences and professional events
  • Be recognized as an esports and learning leader across North America
    • Recognition on NASEF website/blog/social media.
    • Potential invitation to a live NASEF event
    • Receive a special NASEF Scholastic Fellow polo and other NASEF swag
    • Be a guest speaker on one of NASEF webinars and/or videos
  • Compensation
    • Receive a stipend of $2,000 upon completion of program to help further support their esports and learning efforts.

Once selected, each NASEF Scholastic Fellow will be expected to:

  • Implement English Language Arts Integrated Courses
    • Implement Integrated English Language Arts esports lesson plans in their classrooms. NASEF Scholastic Fellows will lead the implementation efforts at their schools, therefore, the Esports Instructional Coach will work with the Fellow to determine lesson plan implementation. At least one lesson plan must be implemented during the academic year (2019-20).
    • Receive one-on-one coaching with NASEF’s Esports Instructional Coach (at least twice a month, in person or virtually).
    • Host a local showcase highlighting our successes (can be in-person or virtual with other NASEF Fellows).
    • Collect and share artifacts of your work during the school year.
    • Contribute lesson plans to NASEF curriculum library.
    • Welcome and receive visitors into the classroom or after-school/out-of-school time programs to observe your lessons.
    • Submit a brief academic year end report to NASEF.
  • Activate an Esports Club
  • Be an active member of the NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community
    • Attend monthly professional learning community virtual meetings (1 hour, November - June 2020).
    • Collaborate with other NASEF Scholastic Fellows. 
    • Work together on organizing, modifying, and analyzing lesson plans.
    • Attend NASEF Fellows Virtual Kick-Off + Training on Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 2:00pm PT | 3:00pm MT | 4:00pm CT | 5:00pm ET (1 hour).
    • Be an active member/leader on our NASEF Discord Community.
  • Be an Esports + Learning Ambassador
    • Engage as an active member of social media (e.g., #esportsEDU on Twitter)
    • Wear your NASEF polo.

NASEF invites English Language Arts teachers interested in implementing NASEF’s English Language Arts Integrated Courses for grades 9-12th in their classrooms to apply to become a NASEF Scholastic Fellow.

 

Date

Activity

Friday, August 16, 2019

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program application launches

Thursday, August 29, 2019 @ 1:30pm PT | 2:30pm MT | 3:30pm CT | 4:30pm ET

Webinar: NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Overview

Friday, September 20, 2019 @ 5:00pm PT | 6:00pm MT | 7:00pm CT | 8:00pm ET

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program application closes

Friday, September 27, 2019

Notifications and selections distributed

Tuesday, October 8, 2019 @ 2:00pm PT | 3:00pm MT | 4:00pm CT | 5:00pm ET 

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Kick-Off (Virtual) (1 hour)

Monthly (November 2019-June 2020)

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community (Virtual) (1 hour)

Monthly (November 2019-June 2020)

Receive coaching from NASEF Esports Instructional Coach

Ongoing

Present at conferences, events, etc.

Active on social media and NASEF Discord

Contribute to NASEF Curriculum Library

Spring

Host showcase (in-person or virtual with other NASEF Fellows)

Spring

Submit Year End Report

As a reminder, the application must be completed online. We have designed the application form to allow you to save and return. You must create a username and password before starting the online application. For any questions, please contact us at info@esportsfed.org.