students sitting on a classroom watching a screen

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program - Middle School

The application is due by Friday, September 20, 2019 at 5:00pm PT | 8:00pm ET.

The NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program provides tools, resources and coaching for educators interested in introducing esports and learning in middle schools and community-based organizations across North America. 

Integrated Curriculum & Lesson Plans for Middle School

This past spring, NASEF worked with administrators and educators from several middle schools across Orange County, California and curriculum developers from the Orange County Department of Education to develop and pilot integrated esports curriculum for middle school. The integrated programs of study focus on esports as a means of facilitating transference of concepts and skills that incorporate Common Core Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, International Society for Technology in Education, and Social Emotional Learning Standards. 

There are two courses with lesson plans available for implementation by the Fellows:

  1. 9-Week Esports Course
  2. 6-Week Esports Course

Both curricula can be adapted for learning/programs during the school day or afterschool. 

How it Works

NASEF invites educators interested in implementing NASEF’s Integrated Curriculum for grades 6-8th in their classrooms or after-school/out-of-school time programs to apply to become a NASEF Scholastic Fellow. The application process consists of an online application that includes a letter of support from your administrator and small video component. Once selected, NASEF Scholastic Fellows participate in an eight month program (October - June) that provides a specialized Esports Instructional Coach, Professional Learning Community focused on esports and education, lesson plans for grades 6-8th, resources to support lesson plan development and implementation, leadership development opportunities and a stipend. 

Download the NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program for Middle School Educators Application packet to review the program in more detail and view all the application questions.

Download Application Packet

Upcoming Informational Webinar - Thursday, August 29, 2019

Interested in learning more about becoming a NASEF Scholastic Fellow? Register for our upcoming webinar! We will cover the basics of the program and answer any questions you may have in a brief 30 minutes. The webinar is scheduled to take place on Thursday, August 29, 2019 at 1:30pm PT | 2:30pm MT | 3:30pm CT | 4:30pm ET. Register today!

Webinar Info & Registration

  • Instructional and curriculum implement support
    • Coaching in instruction and curriculum development and implementation
      • One-on-one coaching with NASEF’s Esports Instructional Coach  (at least twice a month, in person or virtually)
      • Support in lesson plan organization and modification
      • Access to NASEF curricula for middle and high school
      • Contribute to the NASEF Curriculum Library
  • Membership in our NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community
    • The NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community will include:
      • Monthly virtual meetings (1 hour, November - June 2020)
      • Opportunities to collaborate with your NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program colleagues on organizing, modifying, and analyzing lesson plans, planning events, and more
      • Exposure to specially curated content to support curriculum implementation
      • Opportunities to record your lesson plans and receive feedback
  • Help grow esports and learning in your community
    • Support for NASEF club activation at your middle school or community-based organization
    • Host an esports and learning showcase at your middle school or community-based organization
    • Be showcased at the NASEF Scholastic Esports Night Across North America
    • Travel stipends (with approval) to speak at local, regional and state conferences and professional events
  • Be recognized as an esports and learning leader across North America
    • Recognition on NASEF website/blog/social media
    • Potential invitation to a live NASEF event
    • Receive a special NASEF Scholastic Fellow polo and other NASEF swag
    • Be a guest speaker on one of NASEF webinars and/or videos
  • Compensation
    • Receive a stipend of $2,000 upon completion of program to help further support their esports and learning efforts.

Once selected, each NASEF Scholastic Fellow will be expected to:

  • Implement NASEF’s Integrated Middle School Curriculum
    • Implement NASEF’s Integrated Middle School Curriculum in their classrooms and after-school/out-of-school time programs. NASEF's Esports Instructional Coach will provide support to the development and implementation of the lessons plans. At least one lesson plan must be implemented during the academic year (2019-20). At least one lesson plan must be implemented during the academic year (2019-20).
    • Receive one-on-one coaching with NASEF’s Esports Instructional Coach (at least twice a month, in person or virtually).
    • Host a local showcase highlighting our successes (can be in-person or virtual with other NASEF Fellows).
    • Collect and share artifacts of your work during the school year.
    • Contribute lesson plans to NASEF curriculum library.
    • Welcome and receive visitors into the classroom or after-school/out-of-school time programs to observe your lessons.
    • Submit a brief academic year end report to NASEF.
  • Activate a Club (when available)
    • Activate a NASEF club. Interested middle school clubs will be able to activate clubs in Fall 2019. Please note that not all club activities will be available to middle school esports clubs.
  • Be an active member of the NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community
    • Attend NASEF Fellows Virtual Kick-Off + Training on Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 2:00pm PT | 3:00pm MT | 4:00pm CT | 5:00pm ET (1 hour).
    • Be an active member/leader on our NASEF Discord Community.
    • Attend monthly professional learning community virtual meetings (1 hour, November - June 2020).
    • Collaborate with other NASEF Scholastic Fellows. 
    • Work together on organizing, modifying, and analyzing lesson plans.
  • Be an Esports + Learning Ambassador
    • Engage as an active member of social media (e.g., #esportsEDU on Twitter)
    • Wear your NASEF polo.

NASEF invites educators interested in implementing NASEF’s Integrated Esports Curriculum for grades 6-8th in their classrooms (instructional day in school settings) or after-school/out-of-school time programs (Boys & Girls Clubs, YMCA, etc.) to apply.

 

Date

Activity

Friday, August 16, 2019

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program application launches

Thursday, August 29, 2019 @ 1:30pm PT | 2:30pm MT | 3:30pm CT | 4:30pm ET

Webinar: NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Overview

Friday, September 20, 2019 @ 5:00pm PT | 6:00pm MT | 7:00pm CT | 8:00pm ET

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program application closes

Friday, September 27, 2019

Notifications and selections distributed

Tuesday, October 8, 2019 @ 2:00pm PT | 3:00pm MT | 4:00pm CT | 5:00pm ET 

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Kick-Off (Virtual) (1 hour)

Monthly (November 2019-June 2020)

NASEF Scholastic Fellow Program Professional Learning Community (Virtual) (1 hour)

Monthly (November 2019-June 2020)

Receive coaching from NASEF Esports Instructional Coach

Ongoing

Present at conferences, events, etc.

Active on social media and NASEF Discord

Contribute to NASEF Curriculum Library

Spring

Host showcase (in-person or virtual with other NASEF Fellows)

Spring

Submit Year End Report

As a reminder, the application must be completed online. We have designed the application form to allow you to save and return. You must create a username and password before starting the online application. For any questions, please contact us at info@esportsfed.org.