For Students and Educators

Shifting from Competition to Community™

NASEF's leadership wants to support students, families, and educators who are impacted by the changes in school schedules and cancellation of extracurricular activities.

We're thrilled to announce an exciting lineup for those days home from school, as NASEF shifts from Competition to Community™. Please read NASEF's press release here.

Please help us share this with others:


Schedule for Friday, April 3, 2020

Check back here for the daily schedule - we have new plans every day!


 

NASEF Student Sessions

NASEF Community Club

All student events hosted on NASEF's Twitch Channel

One of NASEF's commitments is to instill healthy gaming habits among our clubs.

We'll be holding a 15 minute Wellness Break in between each session, so feel free to join us during that time as you rest, recover, hydrate, and prepare for more fun & learning!

  • 10:00-10:45am PT / 1:00-1:45pm ET: Getting to know Ticket to Ride: An Introductory Playthrough for Educators and Students
    • Join us as we explore the collaborative and learning potential of the game, ask questions in chat and join in as we explore this turn-based strategy video game!

    • Hosted by Carrie Linden of #esportsEDU and Jim O'Hagan of TAO Esports
  • 11:00-11:45am PT / 2:00-2:45pm ET: [REBROADCAST] Minecraft COVID-19 Challenge #2: What is COVID-19?
    • Help us better understand and problem-solve real world experiences by taking on one of our Minecraft COVID-19 Challenges. The Minecraft COVID-19 Challenges is a nation-wide competition for students in grades 3rd-12th.

    • What is a virus? Things in nature, though destructive, can be beautiful. Scientists use 3D models to help develop treatments. Build or code a model of the COVID-19 virus. Label its structures. How does it work? What makes it unique? How might you develop an effective way to combat it?

  • 12:00-12:45pm PT / 3:00-3:45pm ET: Making Games with Gamemaker Studio with Steve Isaacs, Mike Washburn, and Carson Stacy

  • 5:00-7:00pm PT / 8:00-10:00pm ET: NASEF Staff versus Connected Camps Staff: League of Legends Showmatch
    • Our NASEF team will go head-to-head against our Connected Camps coaches for a friendly show match! Join on the Community Discord or live on Twitch for open ARAM sessions at the latter half of the stream!

NASEF Community Club

NASEF Educator Sessions

NASEF and its partners will be offering the following sessions for educators. Participation is free. Click the links below to reserve your seat:

  • 10:00-10:30am PT | 1:00-1:30pm ET: Incorporating esports with Technology for Middle School Students with NASEF Fellow Jodi Mahoney. Come join Jorrel Batac, NASEFs' Scholastic Esports Instructional Coach, in a re-broadcast about scholastic esports with Jodi Mahoney from Carl Von Linne Elementary in Chicago, IL. Register HERE.

  • 11:00-11:30am PT | 2:00-2:30pm ET: Scholastic Esports as an Elective Course in High School with Scholastic Fellow Brad Seward. Come join Jorrel Batac, NASEFs' Scholastic Esports Instructional Coach, in a rebroadcast with Brad Seward from the Samueli Academy in Santa Ana, CA. Register HERE.

  • 12:00-1:00pm PT | 3:00-4:00pm ET: Making Games with Gamemaker Studio with Steve Isaacs, Mike Washburn, and Carson Stacy 
  • 1:00-1:30pm PT | 4:00-4:30pm ETScholarships for Scholastic Esports? Learn about NASEF's Beyond the Game Challenges. NASEF's Beyond the Game Challenges provide students an opportunity to explore different careers with the field of esports. We announced 14 Challenges this spring, ranging from creating fandom art, analyzing game play, creating marketing plans and more. Join Kevin Brown, NASEF Esports Program Specialist and Tyler Cicciarelli, NASEF Esports Ambassador as they break down the Challenges and provides some strategies for success. This session is designed for educators, but students are also encouraged to attend. Register HERE.

Participation is open to all educators, administrators, executive directors, program managers and parents. 

We will be using Zoom to host the virtual meetings. We hope to have them be interactive, so please join via your webcam and audio. 

You can also visit our Events page for more information.


Educators! We're seeking your input on how NASEF can better support you and your students over the next 8-12 weeks. Please complete your survey today.

Educator Survey


NASEF: Game. Grow. Learn. Lead.

NASEF’s focus is now and will always be on the well-being and development of youth.

NASEF Community Club

To that end, NASEF’s education, gaming, and social experts have restructured our always-free environment to ensure that students and families can engage in safe and meaningful ways through our philanthropy and programming.

Students and families can participate in the “Community Club” streams Monday – Friday. NASEF is working with Twitch to make the streams widely and freely available on NASEF’s Twitch Channel: https://www.twitch.tv/esportsfed.

All streams will be monitored by UCI vetted professionals with experience working with teenage youth to ensure a positive and encouraging environment.

Please help us spread the word to students across social media: 

We understand that this can be a challenging time for educators, parents, guardians, and students.

If you have suggestions on additional educational programming or would like to help contribute to these streams, please contact us at info@esportsfed.org